Camp NaNoWriMo: Crossing the Finish Line

Final word count: 50,214 words in total

This is basically the first event of this nature that I’ve ‘finished’ – although during my participation in Script Frenzy I did complete the draft of the script, but it was much less than what was needed to ‘win’ – and it’s a very exciting, accomplished feeling. Not only was I finally able to get down a good first draft to go from for a story I’ve been trying to get down as I want it to be for years, I was able to participate in a fun event and make a lot out of the communication and advantages that come with it, and complete the challenge. Pushing through the last paragraphs I needed to get to the total that night, I did have a lot of trouble with – but I was determined to make it through to the 50,000th word on the draft that night.

I’d already written a bit that day, earlier on, trying to get into the ‘zone’ and figure out a good word count, and I needed only about 2k more to finally make it to 50k. I was at a scene that I hadn’t intended to put in, but it just came as an advantage to me – it was something I could definitely write a lot out of. I’d decided to throw my main character a bit of a bone and let him have a good night, but not without a little trouble and definitely not without throwing in a big plot point that I’d been building up to from the beginning. It was a big revelation, and my character had a lot of trouble admitting it (it took him a few paragraphs of trying to explain things before he was able to just write it) even to his journal.

Of course, I’d been planning to make this one carry over the course of journal entries spanning throughout a year, getting to know my characters and their situation, but something about the way this scene had ended just felt incredibly right. It was perfect for an ending to this first story – I’d gotten to know not only my main character, but his family, his friend, the other characters involved, his situation, and I’d built up to this revelation throughout the story as I’d worked it.

Of course, there are things that I need to fix and change and the entire thing is going to be re-written (and probably a little longer) – there are plot devices that I need to weave in better and I need to put in some more information, and I need to fix the ‘time-line’ of most of it. I’d somehow made this draft, despite being over 30 entries, take place in a much shorter period of time than intended, and that’s… not really going to work well. I’m going to stretch it out over a few more months so I can give some more development to different things and try to figure out different things in the next draft. I didn’t set up for the first one to end at that point, so there are obviously some bits that I held back on and of course, being a fairly quickly written draft, there are a few inconsistencies and a lot of things I need to fix, but it’s going to be serving as a good tool during my outlining process and a good starting place.

Camp NaNoWriMo has been a good tool for me in finally getting the ball rolling here. I’m excited for what’s to come next – I’m going to spend July pouring over this first draft and working out an outline on it. I’m hoping that my next posts on writing and the process will be on either first drafts or making outlines and how I go about those two things – whether the first one that will come is going to be one or the other, I’m not sure, but I’m betting I’ll probably cook something up about first drafts before outlining. I’ve already started on that bit, but I think it’d make more sense judging by my outlining process to write about this whole first draft business first.

How is the last week of Camp NaNoWriMo going for you? Have you crossed the finish line, or are you expecting to?

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: Crossing the Finish Line

Leave a Reply

