Camp NaNoWriMo Week Three

Word count: 45,406 and counting

Week three is at it’s end and, while not necessarily keeping directly on my schedule, Camp NaNoWriMo has been going wonderfully for me. I’ve been making good progress with my story and writing, and currently have over 30 entries for my WIP done. As I’ve said a few times before, this run with the story has been so much more fun for me than the previous attempts at getting out a full draft. I’m much more confident about this version and, come November, when it should be done, I’m going to put it away for a week or two before I go back and review the entries. In reviewing them, I’ll have my handy dandy notebook where I’ll do an overview of basically what I touched base on in each one that I’d like to be kept in the final draft, add in what I want to be put in there, make any changes I need/add any new entries or parts of the plot, basically make an outline for the rewriting through looking at my mess of a first draft from this NaNo-season.

What I’ve loved the most about this experience in general, aside from the writing itself, is being able to share what I’ve been able to do and my new developments. Participating in the wordsprints and interacting with other people doing these types of events, being able to experience the whole thing with others. My lovie and I have been working at this together, and talking to him about the whole mess has been one of the best parts of it. I’m not too sure where he is in terms of word-count, but regardless of that, being able to enjoy Camp NaNoWriMo with him and the sort of ‘community’ of people participating has been amazing.

As for the most enjoyable parts of the writing, I’m not sure exactly what I’d pick. Perhaps the way I can get into character so easily, the way I can explore him so much easier through these journal entries and give him a very prominent voice while doing so, or the way I can come up with an idea on the fly to write about when nothing in particular that I’ve planned ahead for is going on and make something of it just to get those words in and getting something a lot better than I expected out of it. Maybe it’s the progress on the story in general, or, more in particular, the character development (developing characters has always been one of my favourite parts of writing – I love getting to know my characters and sort of see what I can come up with for them, starting out with one idea and as I write and go through the development of the story and it’s draft, wind up with something completely different than I thought).

This story is basically a sort of warm-up for the series itself – the one I’m writing now isn’t exactly intended to be published. I guess you could call it a bonus, an exploration of the character before things really start up. It’s a way to get the ball running and leading up to a good place to start the first book I have planned for the series. What I’m thinking I’ll do is, when I’m working through the final draft for this, post it gradually on here to not only get feedback to help me as I go but make this sort of ‘bonus’ available to what could be potential readers of the series. Not only would it be a good way to figure out my writing style and get into my characters, it’d also be a fun way to get people’s opinions on it and see if anyone likes it.

Thankfully, I’m not making all of the developments here – what I plan to do is to  use this as an opportunity to learn about who my characters are and what situation they’re in at the beginning of the series. While I intend to make this the best I can make it, I’m trying to really save the best for what happens after, for the stories that will follow and will – hopefully – be published one day. For now, it’s just a dream and a goal, but I’m doing everything I can to work towards it. That just happens to be participating in events like these – I have other projects that I need to get done, and those projects will be a big focus of mine outside of these events.

In other words, the first drafts for each of these stories will more than likely be (mostly) written during NaNoWriMo events. I enjoy these types of events so much, they help keep me inspired and get everything down quick without going back to edit and basically help me through the process of getting a first draft down. I’ve been thinking on these things often this past week, and (at least at the moment) this is what the plan for the future is. I’m unbelievably excited to make more progress on this current project I’m working on now and see where it goes, but I’m sure that by the end of November, I’ll probably want to take a bit of a “kinda-sorta” break from it and focus on other projects while I edit and rewrite.

I’m planning on writing 2k every day for the rest of the month, with the exception of today and the day after I hit 50k (if it’s before the very end of the month). I want to have at least 40 entries done by the end of the month, so I need to really buckle down and get what I can done. I’d like to take a break next month, but if I don’t get at least 40 entries done in June, I’ll have to cut out the break and keep working hard towards that in July.

For this last week of Camp NaNoWriMo coming up, I’m planning on trying to wrap it up with a big event in the draft so I can have an exciting finish to the month to come back to at the beginning of August. As of now, I’m not too sure what it’ll be, but I’ll be able to come up with something soon. I have a few things in mind. Whether or not they’ll be positive or negative for my main character, we’ll have to see… but knowing me, it’ll probably be something that has a pretty negative effect on it. Looking forward to it!

What do you plan on doing for this last week of Camp NaNoWriMo? How has the event been going for you so far?

Leave a Reply

