Camp NaNoWriMo Week Two

Word-count: 33,875 and counting

It’s Saturday morning and week two is slowly coming to a close. The chirping of birds is practically all I hear aside from the tapping of my keys, my nose is cold and red, my ankles are covered in strange bug bites. I have been having a bit of trouble writing every day this week like I’ve wanted to, and phasing back into a schedule, but today is going to be my little fix for that.

I just finished up an entry to my current novel that I’m working on here, and clocked in my current word-count. This particular entry was taking me a while, and I’m glad it’s over, so that when the next wordsprints start up on my twitter feed, I’ll be able to jump into a new entry and new scene that I don’t have very planned out aside from making it something important and potentially plot-effecting. Thinking about it is exciting, but I’m going to let that build up until the sprints start. Until then, I’ll be working on other things – this post, my current side project, maybe even reading.

Week three is going to be exciting, I think. I’m nearing 40k – that’s really shocking me. Looking at the counter and my progress on the website, however, I’m not satisfied – it’s not steadily improving. I’ve been missing out on writing at all some days, and others, I only write a little, not enough to update on. I’m trying to get back to my entry-a-day thing, so that I can finish at least 40 -45 entries before the month’s end. I’m going to be trying to make a steady and fair amount of progress daily, even on my birthday (tomorrow), and find whatever ways possible to keep the writing fun and exciting.

When July comes, I’ll write a few entries, maybe one or two per week, but focus mainly on reading and drawing throughout the week with writing more prominent on the weekends. Towards the end of next month, I’ll probably start steadily writing more entries to get prepped for the beginning of the next session of Camp NaNoWriMo, in August, which I’ll be continuing this current novel for (adding 50k new words, though, of course!), and after that’s done, I’ll probably flip back to the July ‘schedule’ until November comes around. I’ll still be keeping up with trying to write a blog entry or two per week, and maybe working on short stories, but I’m thinking my other two projects, my big one that I worked on for Script Frenzy and my current side one, will probably take the reins more in-between NaNoWriMo months and after November, which is when I’m hoping to finish this novel’s draft up.

I’ll probably leave it be for a bit, and a few months later, come back to it and work out editing notes, get down a sort of timeline to work from to rearrange and reference during rewrites and during the writing of the rest of the series, so that when working on another book in the series, I don’t have to pull out the full draft and search through it, but rather just look at my timeline/detailed summaries for personal reference. I’m not sure what all I’ll be working on aside from this current project and blog-posts in terms of actually getting writing done, and that is a bit scary to think about – with all of that time in-between 2012 NaNo season’s end and 2013 NaNo season’s beginning, which is when writing will probably take control again, I’m not sure what I’ll be writing to keep myself sharp.

Aside from my planning for the future after NaNoWriMo season for 2012 is over, things have been going fairly well. I’m hoping to improve on all of the things that have been hindering me along the way during week two, and get back on schedule today.

How has week two been treating you? Any problems, or anything opposite of that?

Leave a Reply

