Update, Productivity, and Camp NaNoWriMo!

I’ve been slacking a little.

But, at the very least, I have enough of an update to report to make what’ll probably be a decent-sized post!

After a recent epiphany, I’ve decided to make sure I don’t slack off and improve significantly at getting the things I want to done and living the life I want to live – thus, I’ve set the goal to complete at least one thing per day, no matter how small, something productive, and to keep myself on this track, I’m designating a loose schedule for myself. When I say loose schedule, I mean I’m going to give myself time to move things around and do things when I want to in a day and still have enough free-time to do whatever I want, but I will have guidelines on what I need to get done that day. Incentives to get this done being 1) My lovie will be seeing my goals in the morning and my completed list before I go to bed, to assure that I got things done, 2) Some sort of reward for myself depending on what I get done.

To help organize what I need to work on first per day, I’ve set some more loose guidelines on what I need to get done in terms of my writing, schoolwork, and visual art first during my week, these being:

Monday – Friday

  • Writing, be it work on my script’s re-writing and revision, outlining for one of my writing projects, a blog post, research notes, or any sort of work on my writing projects.
  • Schoolwork, need to get a significant amount of studying and work done. The amount done during the week depends on Holidays and grades.

Weekends

  • Art, be it working on drawing my project’s art (such as character and scene designs, pictures related to the series), working on colouring and finalizing sketches, or drawing something unrelated to any of my projects.
  • Personal work – this being work on charities and towards things such as answering compassion alerts.

Basically, what I’m doing here is setting what comes first during these brackets – by no means am I making it where I can’t work on one of these things during the other bracket, I’m just giving myself guidelines of what I need to sit down and get done before I move on to doing one of those other things. I’m not big on tight schedules, but I do need to get in the hang of getting things done and being more productive, living my life to the fullest, at least a little bit every day, so a loose schedule/set of guidelines that will fit with other things (social life, sleep, hobbies that I don’t intend to make a living off of, emergencies, reading, etc) and give me as much flexibility as possible. I’m hoping I’ll be able to come up with more things to add to my guidelines over time, but we’ll see. For now, I’m going to keep pretty loose with it and give myself lots of freedom.

This month, in terms of writing, I’ll be working mainly on getting research done for my project for NaNo Camp and re-writing/revising/polishing my Script Frenzy project while hopefully getting plenty of updates and hopefully some more content for the tips, tricks, and opinions category on here, trying to get some good content in before Camp NaNoWriMo June comes around. Come June, my posts will most likely be chronicling my journey through my first participation in Camp NaNoWriMo and I may not have much time to do posting about my writing process and tips during the month. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get more content for the category done than needed for this month to keep it updated throughout June. It all depends, so we’ll cross that bridge when we must.

My lovie and I have decided to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo together this June, as stated above, and I’ve decided that my novel this go-around will be something a bit new for me. It will be a sort of “guidebook” style novel about the fantasy world my main project is taking place in, going through every factor of it and it’s civilizations, written in a more informative manner, almost as if it were a sort of textbook or nonfiction novel within the world. I’ve not written in that style for my own projects, as far as my memory serves, and it will definitely be a challenge, but hopefully, it’ll be fun and help me get to know my world and, by extension, the people in it, a little bit better.

Now, I’ve got a bit more time to stay up, and everything I’ve got to cover is just about done here, I’ll be closing the post up and (probably) popping back into Netflix to watch even more of the original Dark Shadows tonight, as 4 AM is quickly approaching and I had a goal to finish this mess of an update by then.

What have you guys been up to? Do you use schedules, or prefer to just work with whatever time and inspiration gives you? If so, how tight of a schedule, and if not, why? And of course – is anyone participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this June?

2 thoughts on “Update, Productivity, and Camp NaNoWriMo!

  1. I generally work with whatever time I have. I have a minimum word count and do my best to meet that every day, but school puts a lot of demands on my time, so it’s really flexible. Plus, I’m lazy :P

    • I used to be like that when I was in public schooling – any time I had was good time for working on my projects – although I never gave myself a minimum word count until afterwards during NaNoWriMo. Thankfully my schooling is more flexible now, so I can pretty much bend it to fit whatever schedule I can come up with. I’m pretty lazy, too, which is why I’m trying to get in the swing of working on my writing regularly, since I have to be the one to get myself to work on schoolwork regularly anyways too, haha.

Leave a Reply

