Script Frenzy 2012, week two: The inner editor, nightmares, and exploring the project

Page count: 50 pages and counting

I’ve seen a lot of talk about week two, what it seems to do to people. A slow of inspiration, loss of confidence in their skills to see it through to the end… but this past week, for me, it’s still been flowing finely. I’ve been able to get quite a few pages more than usual in per day on the good ones, and I’ve gotten myself a bit ahead. My work has gone to a sort of slow, however, and I’ve been putting myself on 3 pages per day, usually right around night time. My inner editor has started trying to force it’s way through, and there’s that little barrier I broke down at the beginning building itself up again, a little barrier in my head that gives me doubts. One that fights the risks of taking on a project and leaves the door unlocked for the inner editor to come around a little too early for my tastes.

I had a nightmare last night, something horrible and terrifying. I spent a good deal of the morning looking up almost everything I could remember about it in a dream dictionary, each and every little detail I could find, and while I’m not one for dream analyzing, the terror from it was enough to get me to. I found that most of the details were involved with a positive change in life, a fear of not being good enough, things that seem to line up with an amazing change in my life that has come with Script Frenzy: writing more and writing regularly, which has inspired a lot of positive change. Recovery from something I’ve been experiencing for years, long enough for me to wonder how I’ll live when it’s gone, and I guess it is kind of scary thinking about it, although it feels marvelous. Most of the meanings I found lined up with how I’m feeling, the way life has been going, and some of the other things are quite personal, so while I won’t detail them here, they did line up correctly as well, which may have just been an odd coincidence.

The dream resembled nightmares I had often when I was very young, the main difference being my age in it and the fact that it ended with the words “32 PAGES UNTIL DEATH” on my computer screen. I’ve always had a fear of never finishing projects, and since I was little, I’ve had a bad habit of abandoning them. I’m thinking my subconscious is a little wary of my love for the project I’ve been working on this month, something I’ve been trying to build up in my head since around Thanksgiving. I’m balancing my life with it well, and while I do run into little bumps of stress on this road, I’m very confident in this project and I know I will finish it. I have a lot of faith in it, but I’m becoming doubtful of it as always, and this doubt was fairly specifically last night before I went to bed. Hopefully, Script Frenzy 2012 will help me through these problems I have and help me become a better writer, script or not.

While I’ll have to get to work and prove to myself that I can do this, the script has been going well. I’m getting to know my characters and the way they act more, experimenting with how they react to different things, basically learning more and more about them each page and (hopefully) breathing more life into them as I go. They’re each developing their own senses of humor, their own ways of responding to stress and irritation, some even gaining their own ways of wording things before the process of going back and re-wording their dialogue to fit their speaking styles. I’ve found that one of them used to write what they refer to as marvelous stories, and another has it in their nature to worry and dote over others. My antagonist’s plans are being set into motion, and the main characters are learning more about what other things that aren’t quite natural could be lurking in the forests around them.

I’m having a blast exploring my world, getting to know my characters, figuring out the little details of the story as I go. Winging it comes with a lot of doubt sometimes, but it brings freedom, too. I’m definitely going to try to do more of this, maybe combined with a wee bit more planning on what the actual stories will be about next time, and I’ll hopefully be trying more and more new techniques to see how things work out. Soon, I’m going to be buying something to keep all of my visual records for the story in – character and setting designs, drawings that will create the foundings of this world I’m creating, the visuals that will hopefully help me bring my story to something more than a writer and artist’s distant dream.

I’m absolutely loving Script Frenzy 2012, my first participation in the event, despite the bumps in the road! How is everyone else participating holding up? If you’re not participating in Script Frenzy, are you working on something else – if so, what is it?

6 thoughts on “Script Frenzy 2012, week two: The inner editor, nightmares, and exploring the project

  1. How is Script Frenzy as opposed to NaNoWriMo? I’ve done NaNo for two years now, but have always shied away from SF- I guess I’m curious about how you develop worlds and characters in a script format as opposed to prose. It seems like a very different mindset from NaNoWriMo.
    (I love your blog, by the way. Your thoughts on writing are very interesting to read :)

    • It does feel like a very different experience from what I was able to get done during NaNo. For me, developing the world and characters feels easier this time around because I’m focusing on expressing them solely through their dialogue and actions while not worrying about a lot of description, at the very least for this draft, and since I’m working on a script for a graphic novel/webcomic that I plan on creating myself if it goes beyond a script, I’m not really paying too much mind to doing the general way of formatting a script (I suppose this could count as cheating, but hey, it works for me and what I’m doing). An example of how I do it would be something like this:
      Setting: (basic description of the setting)
      Character name: (Dialogue)
      (Line describing character’s actions.)
      as opposed to taking time to learn and pay attention to the format. I try to learn about my characters and the world they’re living in by getting every idea down as quick as possible, and it’s easier for them to take over when I’m not working on describing and going back to look over it. I’m sure it’ll definitely be a mess when I go to type it out and edit it, but it’s fun and experimental for me. It takes it’s own direction when I’m not focusing on putting together the description of what’s going on nicely. I hope this description makes sense and answers your question at least a little – it’s a bit hard to describe, hehe. c:
      (Thank you! That made me smile – I’m very glad it interests you!)

      • Worldbuilding through dialogue can be the most interesting, I think, since it gives you an opportunity to build up your world while showing and developing your characters. That’s usually a lot more interesting than big clumps of description.
        I think most anything is a mess when it’s being done in a month. But it sounds like it’s still a useful thing to do- I may have to consider it for next year. Good luck with the Frenzy!

      • Dialogue is one of my favourite things to write, especially since I tend to love focusing on characters and I feel like I get to know them much more through the things they say. Balancing description and dialogue is something that can be pretty hard, which is probably why the way I’m going at script frenzy with minimal work on description and focusing on just getting everything down is going faster and more enjoyable than the way I was working on my NaNo project, which involved working on description a lot more than I like to.

        And that’s a very true statement there – not only are my pages a mess of my handwriting, scribbles, and occasional doodles and notes, a lot of scenes are in need of adjusting, editing, and general doctoring before they’ll be ready for a finished product, definitely. I think a lot of people get caught up in making everything as perfect as can be in their first draft and like I was with NaNoWriMo, and it has a tendency to bring up a lot of doubt in what they’re doing, which can cause them to give up much easier than if they were to let themselves go and then worry about fixing everything up.

        Thank you! :)

  2. Yeah, week 2 is probably the craziest week of NaNoWriMo and Script Frenzy. I wish you well in your fight with the inner editor. :)

    Writing wise, I took a break from editing my book, and I started the next draft yesterday. One good thing my break did was clear my mind so I could find more errors.My plan is also to rework the beginning. .

    • Oh yes, I’ve heard of the week-two horrors many times when reading about people’s experiences in both. Thank you. C:

      Taking a little break every now and then can keep you on your toes, I’ve noticed. I don’t usually do well with them, but I like to take a brief one in-between working to refresh my inspiration by watching some new things, reading, writing a little bit of something completely different, etc. Good luck with your book!

Leave a Reply

